• The Arena
  • Posts
  • The 1 Year Anniversary of Athletes & Assets™...

The 1 Year Anniversary of Athletes & Assets™...

Let’s skip the small talk, 

It has been 1 year since we incorporated Athletes & Assets™. Wow.

Now for the record, I started the podcast 3 ½ years ago, so it’s been a while. But 1 year ago I said f*&% it and went all in.

As we usually do, I will give a monthly recap, but will also reflect on the journey so far.

TOPICS
1. Uncle Thad and Venture Capital
2. The DAWG Breeding Industry
3. AI Algorithmic Trading??
4. All-Star Weekend Vlog
5. Market Maps

+ My one year reflection

VENTURE CAPITAL
THAD IS AN INVESTING VET…

  • Phoenix Suns Forward Thad Young chats about his journey in the Venture Capital Industry and starting Reform Ventures.

DOG BREEDING
TAUREAN’S GOT THAT DAWG IN HIM…pt. 1

HEDGE FUND
ALEX IS LEVERAGING AI TO MAKE INVESTMENT DECISIONS…

VLOG
BEHIND THE SCENES AT ALL-STAR WEEKEND

  • I share a bit of my behind the scenes All-Star weekend experience, as well as our private podcast shoot in downtown Indianapolis.

The 1 year anniversary…

We’re still alive baby!!!

Since doing this full time I’ve learned a lot about business and startups. Not only from my experience, but from others as well. I mean, I spend all day talking to business owners who happen to be athletes.

I think there’s a lot of startup crap on the internet, and if I can be helpful debunking a couple myths to someone reading this, I’ve done my job here.

Company Set Up

Legally setting up your company is one of the most important decisions you can make early on. Please don’t do something like set up an LLC, and end up wanting to take large outside investment… c’mon man. It is 1000% worth spending money with a lawyer that can help set up the right entity for you.

Setting up a legal entity for the company is annoying, tedious, yet SUPER important, so don’t be a legal hero. I would advise you not to do this by yourself if you’re doing it for the first time. This is not professional legal advice.

Feeling “Burnt out”? Vacation won’t solve that. Your product currently sucks or you’re doing something over and over again that’s not working. Momentum + really hard work should be exciting.

This one is interesting. I see a lot of internet thought leaders say the best founders are built through pain and suffering. I am not sure what they mean by that. Now I did go through a lot in my personal life growing up that wasn’t fun. But building a startup is a privilege and an honor. I haven’t had abundant resources the past year, we haven’t hit our viral moment yet, and have been very cash constricted, but I don’t think that’s “pain and suffering”. That’s just the tax you pay.

I have only worked on A&A full time for 1 year so I guess the jury is still out. But “pain and suffering” sounds like some Charmin ultra soft shit.

Personal Brand

Having people around you that can help build your personal and professional brand behind the scenes and don’t get jealous or think you’re self-centered are some of the greatest people on earth. Hold on to them.

Everyone wants to be in front of the camera, the real heroes are behind it.

My Favorite Quotes I’ve Heard This Year

“You can do anything, but you can’t do everything” - Shaan Puri

“You should work on your business, not in your business”- Truck Bryant

I am guilty of both, I want to do everything at all times. Doesn’t work that way. I am getting better at immense focus on one thing. Great superpower to have, especially in today’s society.

The Standard is the Standard

Don’t lower the standard for bullshit work! You know what winning work looks like. Pretty self explanatory.

TRUST

Not everyone is your friend, business is cutthroat, but look; sometimes I believe it’s more risky to not trust someone than to trust them.

It takes a village.

And that’s exactly why you should ⬇️

Cheers 🥂 to another year of providing a new perspective on business, through athletes. We are just getting started 🙂 

Partner with Athletes & Assets™

Want to be teammates and get in front of our fast growing community of 2,000+ athletes, entrepreneurs, and investors ? Please reach out to [email protected].

Athletes and Assets, Inc. accepts no liability for the content of this blog, or for the consequences of any actions taken on the basis of the information provided. Please invest responsibly and consult a financial advisor before making investing related decisions.